top of page
Search
  • crosschannelmusic

Recording Average Rock Star

How it was all made... I was lucky enough to record my EP in Bella Union studio back in June last year. Bella Union is a great label so being in their studio was very exciting! They have artists like Father John Misty on their roster, to whom Jim was kind enough to compare my music ☺ I met Jim two years ago at a course on musical composition and arrangement taught by pianist extraordinaire Chris Kibble. It was a really inspirig course, listening and studying great music of all kind. My enduring memory is Chris Kibble asking us what the following note or chord in the progression should be and someone answering G and him looking surprised and saying G? Why G? It’s B flat. We were all a bit out of our depths I think, well I definitely was! Anyway, I did take away a few arrangement tricks and even used them in the songs on Average Rock Star. Back to Jim, he is an excellent drummer and sound engineer and working with him was a pleasure. He used to play in My Sad Captains with his brother (another Bella Union act) and also recorded the beautifully atmospheric song Far with his previous band ‘Blurred Moon’. I see on his website that he is planning to release his debut album on February 7th, which is something to look forward to! https://www.jimwallismusic.com Stay tuned for more stories!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page